Types of licence and fees

Private rented property licences

There are three types of private rented property licence:

  • Selective
  • Additional HMO
  • Mandatory HMO

Fees for each type of licence and other charges

Selective licence

The selective licence is for any size or type of property in which one or two people live as a single household.

Additional HMO licence

The additional HMO licence is for one or two storey properties, in which three or more people live as more than one household and share amenities.

Mandatory HMO licence

The mandatory HMO licence is for a property of three or more storeys, which may include a shop, basement or garage, which is occupied by at least five people in two or more households who share amenities.

Guide for landlords and managing agents