fb-trackingSkip to main content

Your MPs

The borough’s MPs represent the local area in Parliament and can take up issues relating to government policy or departments. MPs are there to help only with those matters for which Parliament or central government is responsible.

Your MP is not there to help you in private disputes with neighbours, with an employer, with family matters or with companies who have sold you faulty goods; nor, for example, can they interfere with decisions made by courts.

MPs hold advice sessions where you can meet them and ask for their help.

Barking constituency

Margaret Hodge - MP for Barking constituency

The constituency serves these wards:

  • Abbey
  • Alibon
  • Becontree
  • Eastbury
  • Gascoigne
  • Goresbrook
  • Longbridge
  • Mayesbrook
  • Parsloes
  • Thames
  • Valence

Dagenham and Rainham constituency

Jon Cruddas - MP for Dagenham and Rainham constituency

The constituency serves these wards:

  • Chadwell Heath
  • Eastbrook
  • Elm Park (from the London Borough of Havering)
  • Heath
  • Rainham and Wennington (from the London Borough of Havering)
  • River
  • South Hornchurch (from the London Borough of Havering)
  • Village
  • Whalebone

Greater London Authority

Barking and Dagenham is part of the City and East constituency of the Greater London Authority and is represented by Unmesh Desai, Assembly Member.

European Parliament

London also returns eight Members of the European Parliament (MEPs).

Your MEPs